Posted in parenting

Failing as a parent- I challenge you

The last few weeks have been hard as I’m settling into life as a single parent with no help & not even the tiny breaks I used to get.
Some days I feel like I’ve been going 100 miles an hour all day. Lately I feel life has caught up with me and I’m exhausted. My life has been consumed by cleaning, cooking, laundry, driving in holiday traffic, making sure my bills are paid, appointments, making sure my daughter is fed, has a clean diaper and doesn’t get hurt which seems to be a daily occurrence and sadly my smartphone.
The past week I’ve realized that while I’m meeting her physical needs I’m missing out on the now. I’ve been focusing on the have to and not taking time to enjoy the snuggles, kisses, and just play.
This led me to look around at other moms and I was shocked by what was revealed by simple conversation & observation. Pot smoking, excessive drinking, anti depressants, Xanax, Valium, Yelling & spanking all seemed normal ways of dealing with their little people. Little people who on closer observation where just being their curious, adventurous, little people selfs seeking out the affection, approval and attention of their beloved mommies.
I understand some days are really a challenge in parenthood and some children are more challenging than others. Everyone deserves a break & needs time for themself.
But what would happen if we all put our phones down, turned off the tv, and agreed to spend only a certain amount of our little peoples awake time each day doing errands, housework, the have to’s. What if we spent the rest of the time on our child’s level engaging them, interacting with them and giving them our full attention living in the now and just being with them?
My guess is the other vices wouldn’t be needed so much, mommies would be happier and more productive in their time and little people would be happier too.
That is what I’m challenging all moms for at least 30 days and maybe it will become a new happier way of life for you.

Leave a Reply

