Posted in life

When did I get……Old.

It seems like just yesterday I had nice tight, firm skin that was soft and smooth and wrinkle free.  I laughed at the skin firming lotions, skipped the articles on under eye cream and butt firming exercise.

Then I woke up one day and noticed….I am no longer 22. 32 used to seem so old yet I don’t feel old. Sure my knees pop and hurt like hell if I spend the night dancing or go up and down too many stairs, I get drunk on two or three beers and do not find it funny anymore to wake up with my fake lashes stuck to my cheek curled up on the bathroom floor.

I use a skin firming self tanning lotion, under eye cream and have even used hemorrhoid cream to hide the ‘ I was up all night with a teething baby circles’. I color my hair to hide the gray that seems to be creeping up more and more, I’m soft and even getting saggy in places, I have stretch marks from getting so big to accommodate my daughter, my boobs turned into sagging watermelons to feed her.

At times I am very critical, and even look at the woman I think is more attractive with envy but at the end of the day when I’m snuggling my daughter and falling asleep I can honestly say I wouldn’t change anything. My body is strong and amazing. It has created, carried and given birth to another human, it has carried my thru heart ache and tears and more than I ever thought possible. I take better care of it now but I smile when I look at myself because I’d rather have all this and know I have lived a full life than to have a perfect body because I’ve been too scared to put marks on it.

Leave a Reply

