Posted in Cleaning, life, parenting

What did you do all day?

Before I had my daughter I could clean my two bedroom condo top to bottom in every nook and cranny in about 30 minutes. Now when my husband asks “What did you do all day”  and I respond for the second time this week “clean” He seems mystified, completely perplexed. He doesn’t understand when I say I feel like all I ever do is clean. No one who doesn’t have little people in fact seems to understand. So let me explain What I did all day.

We started the day on Tuesday by snuggling in bed. I changed love bugs diaper, went to the restroom and we headed to the kitchen. While she tore apart my counter top I made and inhaled coffee and eggs while unloading/ reloading the dishwasher, and scrubbing my kitchen top to bottom. She was still in a great mood so I moved her to her exersaucer in the living room and started scrubbing in there. Halfway thru she started to get fussy so to buy some time I danced and sang silly songs while cleaning. I had my curtains open and was of course in a tank top and my underwear so I’m sure I was amusing to the two teenaged girls who were standing outside staring at me. Don’t look so shocked…this will be your life in 20 years. With that thought I finished cleaning the living room. Knowing a meltdown was coming soon I showered and got dressed while she screamed at me. I nursed her, played with her, threw together a sandwich to eat while she nursed again and fell asleep. Because she will only nap while latched on I spent the next hour or so playing on my phone and going over what I still needed to do while eating.I changed her, refilled my drink, went pee, and cleaned the cat boxes before she started screaming. I then felt guilty for not giving her attention so we read some stories and sang some songs, then of course she wanted to eat again. I took out the trash, refilled her wipes, stocked the diaper bag, took a phone call, and it was time to nap again. Then hubby was due home and it was onto the routine of dinner, family time etc…. I never did get to brush my teeth.
So wed, and Thursday we were out and about. Friday…. I change her diaper, go pee and start in my room. While she plays on my bed I clean the room, fill the cat food and water, clean out litter boxes and feed the fish. I let her play on the bathroom floor while I speed clean, scrubbing every surface then hop in the shower. Halfway thru shampooing my hair for the first time since Monday she starts to melt. I dry off, run gel thru my un brushed hair and shove it in a bun, throw on a tank and lounge pants and nurse her. An hour or so later after her nap I strip the bed, start laundry, call my hubby back who is calling for the fifth time just to see what we’re up to and remember I need to eat. Into her bumbo she goes to tear apart everything within reach while I heat up food for me, make oatmeal for her and unload/reload the dishwasher, wipe down the counter tops, and clean out the fridge. I feed me, I feed her. I clean me, I clean her and the highchair, and the floor and the mess she made earlier on the counter top.  I switch laundry, my mom calls,  I nurse love bug. I pull out something to de thaw for dinner. I put her in the Moby and sweep, vacuum and mop. She gets fussy, I take her out to nurse her just to discover she has pooped, everywhere. Its up her back, down her legs, all over the Moby, and now my shirt and arms. I clean her, I clean me. I get laundry from the dryer and start a new load. I nurse her and play on pinterest while she naps. I switch laundry, empty the diaper pail, get a drink and a snack, remember to brush my teeth and start dinner. Hubby comes home and says what did you do all day, I reply cleaned. He looks at the dust and cat hair already collecting on the glass table in our living room, looks at me with my messy hair and clothes and I can see the utter confusion on his face. I also see it again that night at 9 when I collapse into bed with my sleeping love bug completely exhausted.

Leave a Reply

